About Our Library

Constructed in 1982, the Atlanta University Center (AUC) Robert W. Woodruff Library is named in honor of the late Robert Winship Woodruff, philanthropist and former CEO of The Coca-Cola Company. The library supports the teaching, learning and research missions of four institutions of higher education that comprise the world’s largest consortium of HBCUs: Clark Atlanta University, the Interdenominational Theological Center, Morehouse College and Spelman College. As the “center of the Center,” the AUC Woodruff Library is the intellectual and information hub of the Atlanta University Center. 

The AUC Woodruff Library is also home to the Archives Research Center, which is noted for its extensive and unique holdings of materials on the African American experience, including the John Henrik Clarke Africana and African American Collection, the Henry P. Slaughter and Countee Cullen Memorial Collection, and the Tupac Amaru Shakur Collection. In addition, at the request of Morehouse College, the library serves as custodian of the Morehouse College Martin Luther King Jr. Collection.

The Library participates in resource-sharing programs that benefit the Atlanta University Center academic community. Consortial memberships include:

Mission, Vision & Core Values


We serve as the center of the academic village for Clark Atlanta University, the Interdenominational Theological Center, Morehouse College and Spelman College, providing the highest level of information resources and services in support of teaching and learning, scholarship and cultural preservation of the Atlanta University Center.


To reflect the excellence of our member institutions by being the first and best choice for our users in their search for information.

Core Values

  • Quality Service for all Customers
  • Competence in Services and Staff
  • Respect for the Individual
  • High Expectations for Performance

Board of Trustees

The AUC Woodruff Library corporation is a non-profit corporation under the Georgia Nonprofit Corporation Code, and operates exclusively for educational and charitable purposes as defined by Section 501(c)3 of the IRS Code. It is governed by a nine-member Board of Trustees.

Library Board of Trustees 2015 – 2017


  • Dr. John Silvanus Wilson Jr., Chair
    President, Morehouse College
  • Dr. Ronald A. Johnson
    President, Clark Atlanta University
  • Dr. Mary Schmidt Campbell
    President, Spelman College
  • Dr. Edward Wheeler
    President, Interdenominational Theological Center
  • Mr. F. Sheffield Hale
    President and CEO, Atlanta History Center
  • Dr. Danielle Carr Ramdath
    Associate Dean of Faculty, Smith College
  • Mr. Henry G. Zigtema
    Partner, Ernst and Young,LLP (Retired)
  • Dr. Bettye Clark, Ex-Officio Member
    Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Clark Atlanta University
  • Dr. Julio Gonzalez-Ruiz, Ex-Officio Member
  • Chair, Library Advisory Council
    World Languages & Literature Chair/Associate Professor, Spelman College
  • Mrs. Loretta Parham, Ex-Officio Member 
    CEO & Director, AUC Woodruff Library